Remember Ted Drake, a special day for Theo, and Arsenal’s history in the FA Cup

By Tony Attwood

Today, 30 May, is the anniversary of Ted Drake’s passing, as I make mention on Untold Arsenal in the lunchtime preview.

And besides the regular look at all our anniversaries it is also rather nice to consider our success in the FA Cup.

First the anniversaries

  • 30 May 1952: Alex Forbes made his 14th and last international appearance.  The result was Sweden 3 Scotland 1.
  • 30 May 1960: The Times published a long piece denouncing the inauguration of the Football League Cup which replaced the Southern Floodlit Cup.  Despite winning the SFC the previous season, Arsenal declined to be part of the League Cup.
  • 30 May 1995: Death of Ted Drake – the man who in one season scored 42 league goals in 41 games and who once scored seven goals in one league game.  In 1954/5 Chelsea won the league with Ted as manager – an amazing achievement considering that in 1951/2 and 1952/3 they had come 18th, and thus just missing relegation. They sacked him in the 1961/2 season.
  • 30 May 2000: Lauren Etame Mayer transferred from Mallorca for £7.2m, where he had played 63 league games.   He had started his career in Spain, playing for San Fernando, Sevilla, Levante before Mallorca.
  • 30 May 2006: Theo Walcott became youngest England international by appearing in a 3–1 friendly victory over Hungary at Old Trafford aged 17 years and 75 days.
  • 30 May 2014: Arsène Wenger signed a three year contract extension, presumed by many to be his last contract with the club before retirement.

Below I republish our earlier summary of Arsenal in the FA Cup, just in case you missed it before.   For today’s game please do take a look at Untold Arsenal where it will be published around midday.

Of the finals completed Arsenal had won 11 and lost 7 – exactly the same as Manchester Utd.  But with the 2015 final Arsenal become the most successful club in the history of the FA Cup with an all time record 19 finals.  Let’s hope that works out at 12 FA Cup wins.

Here is the list so far…

1926–27 Cardiff City 1–0 Arsenal
1929–30 Arsenal 2–0 Huddersfield Town
1931–32 Newcastle United 2–1 Arsenal
1935–36 Arsenal 1–0 Sheffield United
1949–50 Arsenal 2–0 Liverpool
1951–52 Newcastle United 1–0 Arsenal
1970–71 Arsenal  2–1 * Liverpool
1971–72 Leeds United 1–0 Arsenal
1977–78 Ipswich Town 1–0 Arsenal
1978–79 Arsenal 3–2 Manchester United
1979–80 West Ham United 1–0 Arsenal
1992–93 Arsenal 1–1 * Sheffield Wednesday
1992–93(R) Arsenal 2–1 * Sheffield Wednesday
1997–98 Arsenal  2–0 Newcastle United
2000–01 Liverpool 2–1 Arsenal
2001–02 Arsenal  2–0 Chelsea
2002–03 Arsenal 1–0 Southampton
2004–05 Arsenal 0–0 dagger Manchester United
2013–14 Arsenal 3–2 * Hull City
2014-15 Arsenal Aston Villa

The * shows extra time and the dagger in 2005 shows penalties.

Mr Wenger has competed in six finals, and won five.  One more win will put him equal with the all-time top winner of finals George Ramsey who won six finals with… Aston Villa between 1887 and 1920.   But although it is of course right to remember that Ramsey did win these trophies, we also have to remember that some of the early FA Cups were nothing like the cup today.

In 1887, for example Villa’s winning run included beating Wednesbury Old Athletic 13-0, Derby Midland 6-1, getting a “bye” in the fourth round because various clubs had dropped out, beating Horncastle in the 5th round 5-0, and beating non-league Darwen in the 6th round.   And non-league actually meant non-league – they didn’t play in a league at all.

My point is not to denigrate Villa – they were one of the great teams of the early days of football, but rather to point out that the winning of the cup in those days was not quite what it is now.

Arsenal’s run of four finals in five years between 2001 and 2005 was also a record, although Newcastle did achieve five finals in seven years before the first world war.  Newcastle’s record is however a little less impressive when one notes that they only won one of those finals.

If we look at the top six clubs for FA Cup success we find both Arsenal and Aston Villa included (I’ve not added in the 2015 final appearance).  But Aston Villa are very much old school.

Club Wins First Most recent Finals
Arsenal 11 1930 2014 19*
Manchester United 11 1909 2004 18
Tottenham Hotspur 8 1901 1991 9
Liverpool 7 1965 2006 14
Chelsea 7 1970 2012 11
Aston Villa 7 1887 1957 10

* Including today.

Arsenal’s last victory in the FA Cup final is not too hard to remember, but Aston Villa’s needs a bit of looking up.  It was against Man U, and is remembered because of a collision between Ray Wood in the Man U goal and Peter McParland of Villa.  Wood was removed from the pitch unconscious, and found to have a broken cheekbone.

But this was the 50s when men were men, and medical staff were either ignorant or stupid or bullied by their managerial boss.  Ray Wood returned as an outfield player, and then went back in goal for the last part of the game.

Aston Villa won 2-1, and it was their first major trophy for 37 years.

In the 58 years since 1957 Aston Villa have won the Third Division in 1972, the First Division in 1981, the European Cup in 1982, the Intertoto Cup twice, and the League Cup five times.

Right, it is time to start getting ready for the adventure.

Arsenal History Society index


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *